From the Capital of Culture, the Bahrain International Book Fair arrives once again in its 18th edition. Its location next to Arad Fort carves out a space for culture and knowledge to thrive and for people to engage with one another about their achievements, with more than 400 Arabic and international publishing houses coming together to present what they have to offer. Organized by the Bahrain Authority for Culture and Antiquities (BACA), the exhibition will take place under the patronage of His Royal Highness Prince Khalifa bin Salman Al Khalifa, the Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Bahrain, running from March 28 to April 7, 2018.

This cultural season showcases the beauty of the human literary output in Muharraq, the 2018 Capital of Islamic Culture 2018, a proud city with an ancient history that bore witness to many intellectuals, writers, philosophers and researchers, a tradition which continues in this exhibition that celebrate the human achievement through a wide range of books, intellectual and literary media and others. It also features hundreds of leading publishing houses and cultural and creative intellectual institutions, including public and private organizations, embassies from around the world that share the beauty of their countries, civil cultural institutions, intellectual projects and initiatives, leading libraries, and so much more.

What distinguishes this edition of the Bahrain International Book Fair is that it forewent its usual venues and settled in the heart of Muharraq, the 2018 Capital of Islamic Culture, specifically near one of its oldest archaeological sites and in close proximity to its sea, palm trees and open skies. It is a wager that affirms that the spirit of a city comes down to its wafting aromas, differing textures, and various features you can physically reach out and experience. When one examines the features of this city, he or she will see within its spirit the Khalifiya Library. And with that same ability to bring together the very best of cultural and intellectual movements from all over the world, the 18th edition of the Bahrain International Book Fair also sparks the passion for culture by highlighting the accomplishments of humanity in the written word.

 

28th March – 7th April 2018
Time:
Daily: 9:00am – 1:00pm
4:00pm – 9:30pm
Fridays: 4:00pm – 10:00pm
Venue:

من عاصمة الثّقافة والتّنوير، يجيء معرض البحرين الدّوليّ للكتاب بنسخته الثّامنة عشر، مكرّسًا من موقعه المحاذي والمتّصل بقلعة عراد فضاءً ثقافيًّا ومعرفيًّا، تتقاسمُ فيه الشّعوب على اختلافاتها نتاجاتها وحصائلها الإنسانيّة، من خلال أكثر من 400 دارِ نشرٍ عربيّة وعالميّة، تتقاطعُ في شغفها العميق بتقديمِ ما لديها، وذلك في الفترة ما بين 28 مارس وحتّى 7 أبريل 2018م، عبر المعرض الذي تحتضنهُ هيئة البحرين للثّقافة والآثار، برعايةٍ كريمةٍ وساميةٍ من صاحب السّموّ الملكيّ الأمير خليفة بن سلمان آل خليفة رئيس الوزراء الموقّر.

هذا الموسمُ الثّقافيّ، الذي يزهرُ عن جماليّاته وروائع ما أبدعته الكتابة بفعلها الإنسانيّ، ينسجُ يوميّاته في المحرّق عاصمة الثّقافة الإسلاميّة 2018م، التي في تاريخها البعيد استدعت العديد من المفكّرين والأدباء والفلاسفة والباحثين، وتواصلُ في هذا المعرض احتفاءها بتلك الإنسانيّات عبر حصيلةٍ واسعةٍ من الكُتب، المطبوعات والوسائط الفكريّة والأدبيّة وغيرها. كما تصنعُ رصيفها الثّقافيّ باتّجاه العالم، حيث تُشارك المئات من دور النّشر الرّائدة والمؤسّسات الثّقافيّة والفكريّة الإبداعيّة، من بينها: جهات حكوميّة وخاصّة، سفارات العالم التي تستحضرُ الجمال من أوطانها، الجهات الثّقافيّة الأهليّة، المشاريع والمبادرات الفكريّة المميّزة، المكتبات الرّائدة وغيرها.

ما يميّز هذه النّسخة من معرض الكتاب، أنّها غادرت المواقع المُتوقّعة لهذا الحدث الثّقافيّ كيّ تستقرّ في قلبِ المحرّق عاصمة الثّقافة الإسلاميّة للعام 2018م، تحديدًا بالقرب من واحدٍ من أقدم مواقعها الأثريّة، وعلى مقربةٍ من بحرِها ونخيلِها وسمائها، حيث تواصل الثّقافة رهانها. الرّهان الذي يؤكّد: روح مدينةٍ ما هي ما تصنع. روح المكانِ هو رائحته، ملمسه، وما تعرفه يدٌ لمّا تتلمّس ملامحَ وجهِ المدينة. هذه المدينة التي لمّا تتفحّص ملامحها، ستعرفُ في روحِها المكتبة الخليفيّة… وبذاتِ القدرة على الإتيان بروائع ما أنتج الحِراك الثّقافيّ والفكريّ من كلّ الأرض، فإنّ معرض البحرين الدّوليّ للكتاب في نسخته الثّامنة عشر يجيء أيضًا بما أنجزت تلك الإنسانيّات والشّعوب، حيث الكُلّ على موعدٍ بلقاءات ثقافيّة تلامسُ الشّغفَ بفعلِ الكتابةِ.

 

 

28 مارس – 07 أبريل 2018
الوقت :
يومياً: 9:00 صباحاً – 1:00 مساءً
4:00 ظهراً – 9:30 مساءً
الجمعة: 4:00 مساءً – 10:00 مساءً
الموقع: